Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/prompt-tattoo/  : Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

Yes, I have three!

One is a very big, blunt reminder that I had been raped many times and never spoke up. It is a tattoo above my left breast that says “No silence” and has a rose vine next to it to show progress. When I finally did report it, it was years too late and he got away free while my husband and I have to live with the aftermath and damage everyday. But I report it and that took a lot of courage.

I am currently getting help for this. No worries there.

My next tattoo is a quote on my back, which many people disagree with about the meaning. Written by the German author Erich Maria Remarque, who wrote “All Quiet On The Western Front”, the quote is actually from that books sequel, “Three Comrades.”

The quote reads:

“Nothing is the mirror in which you see the world.”

Big meaning, lots of interpretations. For me Remarque’s “All Quiet…” was the first adult book I ever read. I found it in my mother old college books, faded and yellowed, it had been in her collection from books she read for college classes and with some of her notes. I picked it up during a very bad bout of depression when I was about 13 years old and I officially went from young adult to full adult books. Read it cover to cover and it really clicked with me. The lose of innocence, the despair of loosing your home, seeing things you can never forget and the endless sadness.

I knew I had to get a Remarque tattoo. That book was my first love so I had to honor the man that started the fire in me of reading so I could, for even a little while lose myself in books away from my depression and anxiety. I owe so much to books.

I now own three copies of that book, including that yellowed copy that was my mother’s.

My last tattoo is a on my ankle. Barbed wire and on the outside the German word of “Abschied” or “Farewell.” Why? I am not really sure. It is a sad tattoo, in a language that my family speaks at least a little bit. I guess German was a part of my life and I had to show it.

My tattoos. And I love them.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You?

  1. Pingback: What I Think Of Tattoos | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: The Art of Choosing Ink | The Silver Leaf Journal

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….. You? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Quote Series: Erich Maria Remarque | White Girl In A Dupatta

  5. Pingback: Tattoo… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: Tattoo… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: Book List: My Big Stack Of Books | White Girl In A Dupatta

Leave a Comment

